Re:Framed Bad Idea Gone Sweet (Literally!!)

photo 3

Last Sunday was another day in my life that I realized parents know a lot more than I do… in about just everything . Even food combinations. I’m a type of person that really likes sweets such as cupcakes, cookies and chocolate! Except for honey. I don’t hate it, but for me, honey+bread= uhhh…I’d skip that.

So last Sunday my dad really wanted to make some Honey Walnut Banana Bread. I know what some of you are thinking…. That sounds great! But I kept thinking: why should we add honey in there? And seriously, the moment my dad started making this bread, I was SURE this was a bad idea.

Baking Rule #1.

ALWAYS FOLLOW THE RECIPE.

Now whenever my dad makes something, he doesn’t bother to read the recipe. In this incident, I was reading the instructions for making a great Honey Walnut Banana Bread, but my dad pretty much went his own way. I read “add 1½ cup sugar” and my dad only added ¾ cup! Then he added a TON* of honey!!!

*By TON I mean ¼ cup.

photo 1 (3)

I was having a panic attack….like what tastes good with that much honey? My dad just assured me that this was going to be the best honey-banana bread I’ve ever tasted. Like I’d believe that.

photo 3 (2)

While it was baking, all I kept thinking was:

There is no way that is going to work out.

photo 2 (1)

When it came out of the oven and cooled down, I was the first to take a bite. Sure, I was positive I wasn’t going to like it, but I at least wanted to be the first to try….

AND I LOVED IT!!

I could get a slight taste of honey and there were a lot of walnuts which made the bread taste amazing.

photo 4

It tasted so good, I would have ate the whole think if my dad hadn’t stoped me and told me to take some pictures to upload for my blog!

My family liked it a lot too and they added honey on top of the bread. Okay…I don’t want to go that far…

So sometimes thing are the opposite of what you expect them to be and bad ideas aren’t that bad after all. Especially when they turn out to be sweet. 🙂

photo 5

Now that was a really good idea!

Zainab

Leave a Reply

