Re:Framed Cupcake Recipe Vetted!

photo 1 (7)

I just got a perfect recipe for Red Velvet cupcakes! I love chocolate  and since Red Velvet is just chocolate cupcakes died red, they are one of my favorites.

On Saturday, my three yr-old sister’s enthusiasm for baking made me decide to make some cupcakes. I am more of an early person and so nothing makes me happier than being in the kitchen with no fuss to deal with. It was 7 AM and we got started.

Here are the visual steps of Batch #1:

230

Combine your eggs, sugar, and butter(must be at room temperature). Do not try to rush and melt your  butter in the microwave. Seriously, do not ever be impatient in baking. I’ve ‘cheated’ with this step by melting the butter and the result was not the same. So follow the recipe. Precisely. Please.

231

Add red food coloring with Hershey’s Coca Powder.

232

233

Add half the flour, stir, then add the remaining amount.

235

There finally…

Pour in your baking tray.

238

The Results:

240

…A not very red Red Velvet Cupcake. And a little a spongy but dry.

246

What went wrong?!? I was so upset with my self at first. The cupcakes looked like plain Chocolate Cupcakes and they tasted like they were missing something.

But I didn’t give up. Hey, if I want to post it on my blog, I better make it good right? I can’t lie and say it tasted great then have people making the same thing and being disappointed.

So that’s why there is Batch 2!! Which I made today.

Nope, I didn’t make them early in the morning. Well I did get up early because of the daylight savings time change, but I made these at 11 A.M.

I had only made half the batter yesterday, so I took out the other half today and let it thaw. It was BROWN, dry and unpleasing. So I decided to experiment.

I took about 1/4 cup of milk and added a lot of food coloring. So much that it turned bright red. Then I slowly added it to my leftover mixture, mixing it with my spatula.(No need to beat the mixture again)

The batter looked lively again and lets see the results:

photo 2 (4)

They were PERFECTLY red. And they were super moist!! Conveniently tiny enough to pop in your mouth in one go. Of course, I’m not done yet. I haven’t added my favorite part…

FROSTING!

photo 3 (5)

photo 1 (8)

My frosted cupcakes. Ah, such a good snack! Seriously, there is nothing as great as a cupcake for breakfast.

My recipe is made official.

It’s just like in English when we had to discuss our ideas with our teacher and I was so glad when he vetted mine. Now my recipe is vetted too, not by me, but by my family.

Here is the recipe for these cupcakes in case you feel bored one afternoon or maybe just want to try something new 🙂

Red Velvet Cupcakes: Makes approx 26 mini cupcakes

Prep time: 30 mins

Bake time: 20 mins

4 tsp unsalted butter (at room temp.*important)

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 egg

2 1/2 tsp unsweetened Hershey’s coca powder

3 tsp red food coloring

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/6 cup all purpose flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp vinegar

****if you want to have dark red, moist cupcakes, remember to add 1/4 cup milk with EXTRA food coloring.

I know the recipe calls for vinegar and I also doubted my self when putting it in the batter because I thought the smell would stay forever. Thank God it didn’t. Because when I put in the vanilla essence and then baked it, it tasted yum!!

For the frosting, you can use any type you like, but since its Red Velvet, I used Cream Cheese.

I still have a lot of these cupcakes left. Hmmm….I have no idea what to do with them 😉

Thinking of bringing them to school tomorrow!!

Zainab

One thought on “Re:Framed Cupcake Recipe Vetted!

  1. Pingback: Confessions of a Passionate Blogger | THIS&THAT

Leave a Reply

