RE:Framed: Hunger, Thankfulness and a Cupcake Giveaway!

It was prevalent everywhere. Hunger stared down from the smokeless chimneys, and started up from the filthy street that had no offal, among its refuse of anything to eat. Hunger was the inscription on baker's shelves, written in every small loaf of his scanty stock of bad bread...

“It was prevalent everywhere. Hunger stared down from the smokeless chimneys, and started up from the filthy street that had no offal, among its refuse of anything to eat. Hunger was the inscription on baker’s shelves, written in every small loaf of his scanty stock of bad bread…”

 

Cupcakes can grab anyone’s attention. Especially when people are HUNGRY! Charles Dickens “A Tale of Two Cities” talks about how so many families go hungry and the whole city seems to be filled with walking “dead” people.

No one in any of my classes that I know of (HOPEFULLY) is dying of Hunger, but Hunger doesn’t just kill us. It makes us desperate. Everyone can relate to being desperate because everyone is desperate for something; jobs, grades, getting accepted into their dream university, or an A on that one math test I took two weeks ago.

Its so depressing that the people in the book are so desperate  for food that when a wine cask of wine spills, they rush to drink some and even give babies wine! Babies aren’t supposed to drink that!!! But what can the families do if there is no food on the table?

That makes me feel so thankful. I have problems, but I never have to think of going to bed hungry at night.

So in Honor of my English class reading this book, I want to have my first Cupcake Giveaway!

To Earn a Chance to Win a Free Cupcake, you must:

  • Be a Student (Mr. Theriault is the exception)
  • Be in Mr. T’s English Class
  • Love Cupcakes (that’s easy)
  • Tell me which cupcake is your favorite from the picture above 🙂

The first FIVE people to comment get Cupcakes on MONDAY DEC. 9TH 2013

The cupcakes you’ll get won’t be the ones in the picture above, but they will be good. Trust me.

I’m planning on having more in the future so lets see how you guys like this one!

Khanfectionately,

Zainab

13 thoughts on “RE:Framed: Hunger, Thankfulness and a Cupcake Giveaway!

  1. Here’s a tip for future giveaways: don’t reward the first five people who comment—reward five RANDOM commenters who post comments by a certain date.

    This encourages more comments instead of turning people away when they see that five others have already posted theirs.

    • Thank you for the helpful tip. I’m still wondering how to choose five random people and show other bloggers that the winners were not based on favoritism. If you have any ideas please let me know!

  2. Initially, I thought it had something to do with the Hunger Games! However I loved how you tied in the idea of “The Wine Shop” and hunger. Cool idea, and my favorite cupcake is the purple one with the peacock feather design on it 🙂

  3. I was just about to go write a re-framed post on my blog, similar to your take on the wine scene. As I logged in, I saw your post in my reader with “cupcake giveaway” in the title and I had no choice but to check out your post! All of the cupcakes are so cute, but I think my favorite is the zebra print one because as you can see from my picture, zebras are my favorite animal! By the way, I love the way you tied everything together in this post and related the scenes from the book to cupcakes! 🙂

    • Haha Thanks! Everyone loves cupcakes and btw I am interested in seeing what you posted on your blog about the Wine Scene. I really like reading everyone’s different perspectives to what we read in class because it matches the topic of their blog. The lucky last cupcake goes to you Kimberly!!

Leave a Reply

